Welcome to Radarspotting. Please login or sign up.

May 18, 2024, 05:23:34 PM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.

BaseStation and RTL1090/Dump1090?

Started by Frank, July 29, 2023, 01:59:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank

Hello, I am new to Basestation and trying to get it running. I am a user of RTL1090 and Virtual Radar. My question is, (1) can I run basestation with RTL1090 or Dump1090? Or (2) do I have to run the Modesmixer for it to work and not the other 2 data programs? if Modesmixer is required, I can't seem to get the batch file settings correct and it either hangs or crashes. Basestation looks pretty cool to check out and I like all the features with it. Can I use BS and some other program or device besides a SDS device? running Win7 32bit, radarbox flightstick, outdoor tuned 1090 antenna up at 30 feet on a tower. Current range is approx 200 miles from my location. regards Frank

Anmer

Welcome.

I assume (big mistake, I know) that either RTL1090 and Dump1090 output decoded data on a known port?  If this is the case, ModeSMixer2 can be used to output the data in Basestation usable format on a noninated port.

I use a FlightAware Prostick with an RPi running PiAware.  My PiAware shares data to FlightAware (and FR24) and provides decoded data for ADS-B (port 30005) and FlightAware MLAT plots (port 30105) for aircraft in my feed.  Basestation is configured to connect using "Network" to the IP address of the device running ModeSMixer2 on port 10002.  Basestation is a Windows application.

This is my ModeSMixer.bat file:

@echo off
CMD /c I:\MSM2\modesmixer2.exe --inConnect 192.168.1.136:30005 --inConnect 192.168.1.136:30105 --filter-nocountry --outServer sbs10001:10002
exit

The filter-nocountry ignores an issue with country flags and can be omitted.

This diagram may help.

https://flightaware.com/adsb/piaware/about