Welcome to Radarspotting. Please login or sign up.

May 19, 2024, 09:46:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.

Dongle

Started by dongle, October 24, 2012, 07:57:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IanH

Dongle sir,

When you refer to balun and put up circuit diagrams for pre-amps I have very little idea what you are on about.

I do know the hot end of a soldering iron but your knowledge (and I suspect several others here based on discussions that have gone straight over my head)  is way beyond my understanding  ;)

I can deal with software, PC hardware but electronics is a vague memory - I think they were just inventing the integrated circuit when I studied any electronics at college - most of which I have forgotten over the decades since I had no use for it.

So any help in that hardware aspect of things would help me. I'm not daft, just no experience of those things!

Ian

dongle

Hi Ian,

Well first off, I'm just an amateur dabbler, but anything I can assist you with, I will do my best to do so.

If you let me know what you want to do, I will try and advise.

You mention baluns. These are often used as impedance transformers to adapt the typical 50 or 75 ohm impedance of a radio to antennas that have a different impedance.