Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

February 03, 2023, 05:08:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.
Members
  • Total Members: 6466
  • Latest: hhrhhr
Stats
  • Total Posts: 76508
  • Total Topics: 13893
  • Online Today: 45
  • Online Ever: 783
  • (December 28, 2022, 05:15:59 PM)
Users Online

Latest Post

Latest File

Author Topic: SBS1-er - pre-amp required  (Read 187 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flyoverfred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« on: November 29, 2022, 04:02:41 PM »
Hi Guys

I had planned to put my aerial up in the loft but the ceiling is lined so I'm going to need to keep the aerial in the house. I'm looking for some pre-amp recommendations so I can boost the reception to the best my circumstance will allow.

I have seen this mentioned on the forum https://v3.airspy.us/product/upu-fp1090s/

Should I go for this or is there a better option ?

cheers

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13705
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2022, 04:31:50 PM »
Where do you plan to use the preamp?  At the antenna or at the SBS end?

"Masthead" preamps are best, typically powered.  The one you linked doesn't appear to be powered.
Here to Help.

Offline flyoverfred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2022, 07:02:06 PM »
Where do you plan to use the preamp?  At the antenna or at the SBS end?

"Masthead" preamps are best, typically powered.  The one you linked doesn't appear to be powered.

in between the sbs and the antenna - they will only be 5-7ft apart. The one I linked is usb-c powered. I assume (with zero knowledge) that it's plug and play and wouldn't do any damage to the sbs ?

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13705
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2022, 08:12:25 PM »
There's no software or drivers involved, so connect it and, hopefully, you'll see more aircraft. 

Then again, you may not!

Here to Help.

Offline flyoverfred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2022, 09:16:07 PM »
why would I not see more ?

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13705
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2022, 11:06:43 PM »
why would I not see more ?
Lots of possible reasons:

1. The preamp may not be any good (not that I have any knowledge of this device)
2. Your location is not optimum
3. The antenna position is low
4. Local obstacles blocking signals

All I'm saying is there's no guarantee you'll get more traffic after installing the preamp.
Here to Help.

Offline rikgale

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8993
    • CornwallVRS
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2022, 08:05:42 AM »
On the flipside I use one of these uputronics amps with an SBS-3 from an indoor setting and it increases my range and number of messages recieved. Get it as close to the antenna as possible in your set up.

YMMV. :)
« Last Edit: November 30, 2022, 08:12:53 AM by rikgale »
Feeding: FR24, FA, PF, OS, RB, 360R, RV, PW, SS, adsb.fi /.lol /.one, SSW + CornwallVRS
All ZIP files also on GitHub (updated: 11/10/22)

Offline flyoverfred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2022, 02:33:20 PM »
On the flipside I use one of these uputronics amps with an SBS-3 from an indoor setting and it increases my range and number of messages recieved. Get it as close to the antenna as possible in your set up.

YMMV. :)

thanks for the reply, do you power it with the usb-c or via bias-tee ?

Offline rikgale

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8993
    • CornwallVRS
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2022, 03:20:47 PM »
Via USB. The SBS-3 does not have bias-t functionality that I am aware of.
Feeding: FR24, FA, PF, OS, RB, 360R, RV, PW, SS, adsb.fi /.lol /.one, SSW + CornwallVRS
All ZIP files also on GitHub (updated: 11/10/22)

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13705
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2022, 04:20:59 PM »
The SBS-3 does not have bias-t functionality that I am aware of.

Correct.
Here to Help.

Offline flyoverfred

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Re: SBS1-er - pre-amp required
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2022, 04:32:08 PM »
thanks guys, I think I will give this model a go, gets good reviews. Appreciate your input as always Anmer !