Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

December 02, 2021, 04:33:08 AM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.
Members
  • Total Members: 6185
  • Latest: w6gsw
Stats
  • Total Posts: 61137
  • Total Topics: 13634
  • Online Today: 53
  • Online Ever: 164
  • (August 20, 2021, 01:02:40 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 27
Total: 27

Latest Post

Latest File

Author Topic: FlightAware Pro Stick  (Read 39567 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2016, 10:14:52 AM »
Yes as far as I am aware RTL1090 is still available. My post was really to try and be consistent as the RPi set up only uses Dump1090 as far as I know.

Agreed.  I was trying to explain that the Pro Stick is just another DVB-T SDR that can also be used with a PC.

Quote
does the Pro Stick work simply plugged into a PC?
Here to Help.

Offline deedaa1950

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2016, 08:53:55 AM »
Looked on amazon and the filter was £118 is this a piece of equipment that you need to use the prostick which is selling for £13.57.

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2016, 09:00:15 AM »
Looked on amazon and the filter was £118 is this a piece of equipment that you need to use the prostick which is selling for £13.57.

That Amazon listing isn't by FlightAware.

Do a search for virtually anything on Amazon and you'll find items listed at crazy prices.  I'd call it a scam, Amazon says it's "market forces".

FlightAware sells the filter for approx GBP £15 but Amazon UK is out of stock.

Here to Help.

Offline IanH

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2016, 09:55:10 AM »
I paid £15-37 for the filter last week. Should be around that price when it comes back in stock. There had not been much demand for it previously but the recommendation that you use it with the ProStick has changed that.

Since the ProStick and filter are likely to be in and out of stock at different times, if you want one buy while in stock.

Fiightaware instructions with the ProStick are:

"requires a 1090MHhz filter or custom gain settings to work correctly"

So the filter is not essential. See http://flightaware.com/adsb/prostick/setup/ for gain suggestions.

Offline edgy

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2016, 10:58:01 AM »
In some cases the filter doesn't help :-)

We have a DME station in Kansas that a lot of upper-level airliners use. They use OKC and then as they get close, they switch to Liberal Kansas DME (Tacan Channel 70) which is Air to Ground 1094 MHz. 4 MHz off.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2016, 05:29:44 PM by edgy »

Offline Captain Plummet

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #20 on: April 08, 2016, 11:41:15 AM »
does the Pro Stick work simply plugged into a PC and connected to an antenna? Does it come with appropriate data collection and display software or can it be used to feed data into PlanePlotter for example?

The Pro Stick is, basically, a DVB-T SDR which can receive digital transmissions including Mode-S aircraft messages on 1090 MHz (and UAT on 978 MHz).  These SDR receivers are sometimes referred to as "dongles" and David Taylor has written a useful Guide, albeit directed towards PlanePlotter users:

http://planeplotter.pbworks.com/w/page/62409382/RTL1090

The Pro Stick doesn't ship with any software and can be used in the same way as any other DVB-T SDR.  Nor does it ship with an antenna or cables.  The DVB-T SDR antennae are not too good for Mode-S message reception.

FlightAware designed the Pro Stick to optimise Mode-S performance using a built-in amplifier.

Specialist software is needed to make use of these messages which can be run either on a PC or a small format device such as the Raspberry Pi (RPi).  FlightAware has free, fully configured software for the RPi called PiAware which includes the rudimentary DUMP1090, browser displayed aircraft tracking.  PiAware also outputs decoded data on various ports which can be used to run PlanePLotter and other, Mode-S applications such as VRS.

Uniquely, PiAware outputs all locally derived MLAT plots.  i.e. those achieved by your receiver's messages used in conjunction with other, synchronised PiAware data feeds.  Unlike other MLAT solutions, PiAware doesn't block or hide any MLAT flights.

Mike,

I don't know whether Nigel understood that wonderfully comprehensive reply to his question, but at the risk of sounding really stupid and making myself look a complete dunce, I'm afraid I was lost by the first sentence, because I have no idea what a 'DVB-T SDR' is...  :-[

Okay, I accept that I'm not up to speed on radar spotting; I just dip in and out of watching aeroplanes on my BaseStation radar display as the mood takes me.

My set-up is just an old SBS-1 feeding into my wi-fi network at home, and I watch the 'planes on the BaseStation program that came with it, enhanced by FlightDisplay and Active Display to show me details of where what I'm watching is coming from and going to etc.

I don't want to change that, but like everyone I would be interested in a relatively cheap way extending the range and coverage of what I see on BaseStation.

Without going into all the technical details, is one of these dongle things likely to do that for me somehow if I put it in the line between aerial and SBS-1, or is it a separate stand-alone SBS-1 replacement that wouldn't work with BaseStation? (In which case, it's not for me and I can disregard it.)

I'm sorry to be so dumb, but there we are.

Cheers.

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #21 on: April 08, 2016, 12:10:53 PM »
I don't know whether Nigel understood that wonderfully comprehensive reply to his question, but at the risk of sounding really stupid and making myself look a complete dunce, I'm afraid I was lost by the first sentence, because I have no idea what a 'DVB-T SDR' is...  :-[

Sorry, that's me trying to be too specific.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software-defined_radio

Some refer to them as "dongles" or "USB sticks".

It's best to view the DVB-T SDR as a low cost alternative to a specialist Mode-S receiver, such as the SBS range, Beast, Radarcape or RadarBox.  But that's all, just a receiver.  No included software such as BaseStation and local database.

There are ways to use a DVB-T with BaseStation but I prefer to let others explain how.

I use my DVB-T (Pro Stick) with a Raspberry Pi to run PiAware and feed FlightAware.  I like to see local MLAT traffic using the PiAware DUMP1090 map/list and access the free FlightAware Enterprise account that I get in exchange for my feed.  The beauty of the Pro Stick/RPi combination is I don't need to run a PC and can virtually ignore it.  It just keeps on running, as the song lyrics go  :)

I'm using the Pro Stick with an external antenna and am seeing marginally better range than I get from my SBS-3 connected to another external antenna with a masthead pre-amp.

BaseStation is still my "tracking" software of choice and must find time to explore how I can use it with the Pro Stick.

So, in summary.

If one doesn't have a specialist Mode-S receiver, the Pro Stick is a low cost starting point.  If you're happy with your current setup, stick with what you've got.  Or, if you want another receiver for whatever reason, the Pro Stick, or any suitable "USB stick", is an option.

Hope that helps?
Here to Help.

Offline yonadav

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #22 on: April 08, 2016, 02:22:22 PM »
I looked up the Pro stick at Amazon US. Here's what I found:

- Currently unavailable.
- We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
- The required 1090 MHz filter costs an additional $19.95

-:(

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #23 on: April 08, 2016, 02:26:30 PM »
Here to Help.

Offline sergiomaria

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #24 on: April 08, 2016, 03:27:23 PM »
Hello Group,
My reason to share with Flightaware website,are:
a well detailed interface
My ADS-B page
My alarms

I would there were a chat to talk with other users or at least a rapid way to contact other users of the same Country for opinion exchanging.
Happy reception to everybody!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #25 on: April 08, 2016, 03:28:34 PM »
Hello Group,
My reason to share with Flightaware website,are:

The Raffle starts on Sunday.

http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php/topic,5883.msg28880.html#msg28880

Here to Help.

Offline Captain Plummet

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #26 on: April 08, 2016, 03:41:35 PM »
I don't know whether Nigel understood that wonderfully comprehensive reply to his question, but at the risk of sounding really stupid and making myself look a complete dunce, I'm afraid I was lost by the first sentence, because I have no idea what a 'DVB-T SDR' is...  :-[

Sorry, that's me trying to be too specific.

If one doesn't have a specialist Mode-S receiver, the Pro Stick is a low cost starting point.  If you're happy with your current setup, stick with what you've got.  Or, if you want another receiver for whatever reason, the Pro Stick, or any suitable "USB stick", is an option.

Hope that helps?

Yes, thanks, it makes things much clearer. I'd not heard of the Pro-Stick until I got the competition email today, and I got completely the wrong end of the stick, (err, as it were; that wasn't intended!), and I formed the idea in my head from the reports of it extending range that it was some sort booster device.

All is now clear, and I will go back to sleep until next spring.

Cheers.

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #27 on: April 08, 2016, 03:46:32 PM »
You were right to ask for clarification.  Others may be equally confused but don't like to ask, so thanks for doing so.
Here to Help.

Offline Nigel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #28 on: April 08, 2016, 11:09:07 PM »
Many thanks for the further clarification. I didn't like to ask for the fear of getting further confused, being technically inept. I have ordered a Pro Stick and Filter from Amazon, although I already have a Puck and external antenna which provides excellent range. It seemed very reasonably priced and so I thought it would be useful to have a play and develop my knowledge and skills of these things.

Please can someone recommend and direct me to a source of specialist software (Dump 1090?) that I might use on a PC to make use of the messages from aircraft received by the stick

Many thanks 

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13304
Re: FlightAware Pro Stick
« Reply #29 on: April 09, 2016, 08:31:32 AM »
Please can someone recommend and direct me to a source of specialist software (Dump 1090?) that I might use on a PC to make use of the messages from aircraft received by the stick

There's a version of Dump1090 for Windows.  I haven't used it.:

http://sonicgoose.com/using-dump1090-in-windows/

http://www.rtl-sdr.com/ads-b-decoder-dump1090-now-available-windows/

http://planeplotter.pbworks.com/w/page/79995023/Dump1090
Here to Help.