Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

November 27, 2021, 07:56:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 61006
  • Total Topics: 13632
  • Online Today: 63
  • Online Ever: 164
  • (August 20, 2021, 01:02:40 AM)
Users Online

Latest Post

Latest File

Author Topic: Teamviewer  (Read 2331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Teamviewer
« on: June 01, 2016, 05:27:50 PM »
Hi I run Teamviewer 11 and up to now it has been faultless.  However, this afternoon it refuses to connect on my laptop (Saying no internet connection) and is showing the same on my remote desktop PC as well. All other "internet" connections are working as expected. When I go to the direct link to Teamviewers website I get the message not available.


Anyone else getting this please?


Offline corsa

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 05:33:12 PM »

Hi Roadrunner

I've just checked mine on the PC and laptops and all's well here.....

Tom

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13297
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2016, 06:25:42 PM »
Hi Mike

How are you using it?  As Remote desktop?

Is Teamviewer running on both the remote and local PCs and do they both have Internet connections?
Here to Help.

Offline Tristar500

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2016, 07:30:34 PM »
Hi Roadrunner,

I had the same problem whilst trying to connect to a friend's machine around 1630 today. We both got a 'Not Ready - check connection' message when opening the program & it wouldn't give an ID or password either. He had a brief message about a 'Proxy Server' but was unable to grab any further details.
Teamviewer websites were also unavailable.

Ian

Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2016, 08:03:57 PM »
Just found a website that is saying teamviewer is down all over the place usa and uk as well as many other countriez.......i

Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2016, 08:25:25 AM »
Happy to report that Team viewer fixed their problem overnight and all up and running this morning!

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13297
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2016, 08:41:14 AM »
Thanks for the update Mike.
Here to Help.

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13297
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2016, 05:54:05 PM »
Here to Help.

Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2016, 04:15:09 PM »
SCARY!


Offline Chris-G0WTZ

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2016, 05:16:44 PM »
Does any one use a good alternative? My license is up for renewal and I think it is getting too costly (£29.90 per month now)

Offline IanH

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2016, 06:48:56 PM »
try looking at these:

http://alternativeto.net/software/teamviewer/

One may work for you but it depends how you use TeamViewer - local PCs, across the internet, etc

I use RealVNC to see the screen of a virtual machine running BS and PP

Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2016, 10:23:50 AM »
I tend to use Teamviewer just to watch my den fixed desktop PC from either my laptop or tablet while in the same house (have to be in same room as wife at times)
Is there anything I can use as all PC's will be on the same group. 192.168 etc etc


I did install Real VNC on my desktop and VNC viewer on the laptop but Firstly I had to change the port number as there was a conflict then when I connected to RealVNC server from my laptop it said it won't encrypt. Is that normal? or Safe?


I was after a free version if possible!


Regards Mike


Offline Keef

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2016, 11:13:31 PM »
If the computer you want to connect to is running a 'Pro' or higher version of Windows you can use RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol).

You can run this by typing mstsc.exe (Microsoft Terminal Services Client) in to the start box.

You need to open up your PC to allow incoming RDP sessions, and if you want access over the internet you will need to set up port forwarding and maybe have a dynamic DNS (e.g dyndns) service unless you have a static IP from your ISP.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/turn-on-remote-desktop-in-windows-vista/

Cheers,

Keef.


Offline Roadrunner

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 882
Re: Teamviewer
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2016, 06:18:16 PM »
Thank you