Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

December 05, 2021, 09:02:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 61349
  • Total Topics: 13636
  • Online Today: 43
  • Online Ever: 164
  • (August 20, 2021, 01:02:40 AM)
Users Online

Latest Post

Latest File

Author Topic: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation  (Read 1284 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nigel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« on: December 12, 2020, 04:45:48 PM »
I have been trying to use Modesmixer2 to take data from a Plane Finder Radar Receiver and display it in Basestation without success. The Plane Finder Radar receiver data is made available via the client on port 30054. This is the batch file for Modesmixer2 that I've tried:

@echo off
cmd /c modesmixer2.exe --web 8080 -inConnect 192.168.1.87:30054 --outServer sbs10001:10001
PAUSE
exit


Could anyone suggest where I might be going wrong or if it's not possible to use Modesmixer2 to do this?

Thank you

Offline Triple7

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2020, 05:04:51 PM »
Hi Nigel,

The batch file looks OK to me. What settings do you have in BaseStation? Perhaps the data is being correctly supplied by MSM2 but is not being found by BS.

Tim
SBS-1eR, FA ProStick + 1090 filter

Offline Keef

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2020, 06:05:11 PM »
Hi Nigel,

If you've done a copy/paste of the contents of the batch file then you might have a typo.

The syntax looks correct but you have:

-inConnect 192.168.1.87:30054

I think you need a double hyphen:

--inConnect

It could be that simple!

As Tim points out its worth checking in Basestation under:

Settings | Hardware Settings | Network

That you have a matching port value of 10001 and the IP address is also correct.

Cheers,

Keef.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2020, 06:16:25 PM by Keef »

Offline Nigel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2020, 06:50:11 PM »
Thanks to both for your replies. It was a copy/paste error, I do have a double hyphen in front of inConnect.

My Hardware settings in Basestation are:

Address: 192.168.1.87
Port: 10001

That format of batch file works fine for displaying data from dump-1090 running on a Pi (+ FA Prostick) in Basestation, apart from a different IP address and port, which is why I'm puzzled. Perhaps it is something about the raw data come out of the PF Radar receiver?

Thanks again

Online Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13312
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2020, 07:32:15 PM »
What "Data Source" have you set in Basestation?

And what's the IP address of the PC running ModeswMixer2?
Here to Help.

Offline Keef

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2020, 07:44:49 PM »
Hi Nigel,

It could be a long shot, but if ModeSMixer doesn't recognise the output format of your PlaneFinder receiver maybe you could try using Virtual Radar Server to do the job?

It has an option on the RX side that is specifically for Plane Finder, see attached VRS_RX.jpg.

If you can get it receiving data then there is a rebroadcast option you can select to be in BaseStation format, see attached VRS_Rebroadcast.jpg.

A bit convoluted I know, and obviously the settings I have aren't going to be much use to you so ignore them, but it might be worth a play around to see if you can get it to work.

If you click in any box there is a hint displayed at the bottom of the window as to what the field does.

You get to the config window though the Tools | Options menu.

Cheers,

Keef.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2020, 07:56:50 PM by Keef »

Offline Keef

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2020, 07:51:55 PM »
Dammit, must have pressed 'quote'.
Deleted to avoid confusion.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2020, 07:55:45 PM by Keef »

Offline Nigel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2020, 09:21:26 PM »
Thank you again for your replies. These are the results of tests of both Modesmixer2 and VRS (see attachments)

Using Modesmixer2, I am using Network as the data source in Basestation. As Anmer suggested, I have used the IP of my PC as the address, as that is where Modesmixer is running, and Port: 10001. The output from the batch files suggests that it is working, and Basestation indicates a connection (Connected to SBS-1) but no data is displayed.

VRS takes the data feed from the PF Radar and displays it without a problem. I have tried rebroadcasting it to Basestation and the VRS output suggests some data transfer but again nothing is displayed in Basestation. I thought this approach might work since the VRS guide indicates that VRS '  Retransmits the receiver's feed as Kinetic Port 30003 messages' so the data should be in an appropriate format for Basestation.

I'll continue experimenting.

Many thanks

Nigel

Offline Nigel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2020, 10:05:50 PM »
An update - I think I have solved the problem. I have initially fed the data from the PF Radar into VRS, and then rebroadcast it in Basestation format to Modesmixer2. The inConnect statement in Modesmixer2 is to receive the rebroadcast data from VRS, with the --outServer statement remaining as SBS10001:10001. In Basestation I have set the Network Address as the local IP of my PC and Port as 10001. A rather long-winded way around but it's now displaying the data.

Many thanks for your feedback which stimulated me to think along these lines.

Nigel



Offline Keef

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2020, 10:32:29 PM »
Good to hear you have a working solution.

This forum is a great place, thanks to Mike for making it available to us all.

Cheers,

Keef.

Offline abcd567

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 87
Re: Displaying Plane Finder Radar data in Basestation
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2021, 11:14:06 AM »
I can successfully feed Basestation directly from ModeSMixer2 (both on same Win10 computer), using data from PFClient on RPi at IP 10.0.0.22 port 30054.

Basestation:
Settings >> Data Source >> Use Network
Settings >> Hardware Settings >> Network >> Address 127.0.0.1, Port 10001

Please see screenshots below.

MODESMIXER2 BATCH FILE
Code: [Select]
@echo off
cmd /c modesmixer2.exe ^
--web 8080 ^
--location 43.58:-79.62 ^
--inConnectId 10.0.0.22:30054:PF ^
--outServer sbs10001:10001
PAUSE
exit


Windows 10 cmd terminal's output when batch file was run
Code: [Select]
2021-01-02 06:02:34.957  INFO     ModeSMixer2 v.20190413
2021-01-02 06:02:34.957  INFO     Magnetic declination calculated
2021-01-02 06:02:34.973  INFO     outServer(sbs10001:10001) started
2021-01-02 06:02:34.973  INFO     inConnectId(10.0.0.22:30054:PF) connecting 10.0.0.22:30054
2021-01-02 06:02:34.973  INFO     inConnectId(10.0.0.22:30054:PF) connected
2021-01-02 06:02:35.336  INFO     inConnectId(10.0.0.22:30054:PF) BEAST data stream detected
2021-01-02 06:02:49.085  INFO     Coverage area was determined
2021-01-02 06:02:49.085  INFO     Magnetic declination calculated
2021-01-02 06:02:56.154  INFO     outServer(sbs10001:10001) 127.0.0.1:63729 connected
2021-01-02 06:03:01.149  INFO     outServer(sbs10001:10001) 127.0.0.1:63729 SBS-3 LOGIN

« Last Edit: January 03, 2021, 01:21:06 AM by abcd567 »