New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

February 28, 2021, 03:26:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
  • Total Members: 5894
  • Latest: list83
Stats
  • Total Posts: 52715
  • Total Topics: 12728
  • Online Today: 39
  • Online Ever: 78
  • (January 15, 2021, 06:24:24 AM)
Users Online
Users: 2
Guests: 25
Total: 27

Donations

Donations help with annual costs and keep Radarspotting free of advertising. Thank you.

Latest Post

Links & Files

Silhouettes, Profiles and Operator Logos

21st February 2021. Latest Zip file from Chris Alder now available.

If you're looking for a bulk download, we have over 66,000 aircraft silhouettes, profiles and operator logos available in bmp file format, 85x20 pixels. You can find all the Zip files here.  

For help installing these files, there's a free Guide here

Some of the Latest Additions:







Author Topic: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source  (Read 1103 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline javi

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« on: March 12, 2019, 12:14:10 AM »
Hi,

Since VRS i'm trying to rebroadcast Compressed VRS (from pingstation receiver) to basestation format so that you see this traffic in Basestation software.
First have tried modedeco2 and I do not see the possibility of being able to indicate the data source, IP and port, from which Compressed VRS data is sent.
I have tried modesmixer2, the same, I do not see the possibility of being able to indicate the data source, IP and port, from which Compressed VRS data is sent. 

This is what I have achieved. I tell you what I am doing, in case you could please help me get. Thanks a lot!!

Pingstation configuration:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation-2443619.html

Pingstation configuration in VRS, it is displayed correctly in VRS:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation2-2443614.html

In VRS retransmit to Basestation format the frames of the Compressed VRS pingstation:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation3-2443612.html
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation4-2443615.html

Now I use software modesmixer2 to connect to the IP and port where frames are rebroadcasting from VRS.
Within the code I have tried to put Compressed VRS without commas getting same result. I do not know what argument to put in front so that modesmixer2 detect data are Compressed VRS.
File modesmixer2.bat that I run:

Code: [Select]
@echo off

cmd /c modesmixer2.exe --web 8080 --location 42.26:-8.77 "Compressed VRS" --metric --inConnect 192.168.0.18:33033 --outServer beast:30002 --inConnect 192.168.0.18:30002 --outServer sbs10001:10001

PAUSE

Code: [Select]
@echo off

cmd /c modesmixer2.exe --web 8080 --location 42.26:-8.77 Compressed VRS --metric --inConnect 192.168.0.18:33033 --outServer beast:30002 --inConnect 192.168.0.18:30002 --outServer sbs10001:10001

PAUSE

A priori everything runs correctly detecting data stream or that indicates modesmixer2:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation5-2443616.html

But although Base station connects, it does not represent any airplane:
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-pingstation6-2443617.html

Offline IanH

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2019, 12:24:06 AM »
First of all, delete the "Compressed VRS" text in the modesmixer2 batch file.

You don't need it and anyway modesmixer2 does not have an input for Comp VRS.

Jump to end of post for solution


*******
Looking at pingstation3 picture, you are rebroadcasting in BaseStation format (not Comp VRS).

So your "--inConnect 192.168.0.18:33033 --outServer sbs10001:10001" commands are doing what you want.

I don't know why nothing is plotting on BaseStation - it works for me.

Although my data into VRS is a different format, everything in pingstation5 picture looks similar to what I am seeing.

I did wonder if your old versionof modesmixer2 was the problem but I have tried that and it works. If you want a new version go here: http://xdeco.org/?page_id=30#mm2

*******

OK just tried rebroadcasting in Comp VRS format and it does NOT show any plots on BaseStation even though everything connects. (pingstation3 picture is misleading!)

So you have two options for rebroadcast format: BasesStation or AVR. Both work with your modesmixer2 commands.

Suggest you use AVR to rebroadcast rather than BaseStation

Offline javi

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 08:30:44 AM »
I downloaded modemixer and it does the same. I tried to format AVR and VRS says "FORMAT NOT SUPPORTED FOR RECEIVER TYPE" :-[
http://www.subirimagenes.com/privadas-avr-2443738.html


Offline IanH

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2019, 06:21:46 PM »
From the VRS website:

Compressed VRS: A compressed feed format that is similar to BaseStation but requires much less bandwidth. At the time of writing only Virtual Radar Server rebroadcast servers can transmit this format.

Obviously nolonger true, but most of us have no way of confirming the problem.

However I do have two test VRS virtual machines. Just ran Piaware into one, rebroadcast Compressed VRS from it. On the other one I received the Compressed VRS but none of the available rebroadcast options are allowed.

Looks like the author of VRS did not include a Compressed VRS translation to other format option for rebroadcast.

Suggest you join the forum of VRS and ask if it is possible to include this option. Otherwise VRS is your only option for display.

Offline javi

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2019, 12:26:44 PM »
Ok. Thank hoy si much

Offline IanH

  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2019, 09:31:39 PM »
I have also explained on VRS forum what I tried that confirmed your findings  :)

Perhaps sergsero will update modesmixer2 to provide an alternative for you.

Offline javi

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: feed Basestation from Compressed VRS data source
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2019, 10:34:42 PM »
Thank you very much for your help!!! and hopefully sergsero can tell us something about whether it is feasible and simple and if it is possible that modesmixer2 include this possibility.