Welcome to Radarspotting. Please login or sign up.

May 01, 2024, 01:39:12 PM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.

Need opinion on my antenna results

Started by shiloh, April 19, 2013, 07:49:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shiloh

Hello All,

I'm still pretty new at this hobby and would like some opinion on the results I'm having with my brend new antenna installation.

I've installed an "Antenni.net" 5dbi omni on my rooftop (this antenna : http://www.anteni.net/adsb/index.html#!/~/product/category=3647502&id=15504149)

I have a 50ft run of LMR-400-Ultraflex to my receiver (currently a dongle).

According to the Times Microwave loss calculator this is the loss I'm having with my run:

Product: LMR-400-UltraFlex
Frequency (MHz): 1090
Run Length (Feet): 50
Attenuation (db/100 feet): 5.184
Attenuation (db/100 mtrs): 17.011
Average Power (kW): 0.43
Total Run Attenuation(dB): 2.6
Efficiency (%): 55.0

The typical contact range I'm having with this setup is around 100NM. I see very sporadic contact above that range but within 100NM I get good coverage.

I must admit that I was expecting a greater coverage range than what I am currently getting.

So, what do you think?

I'm wondering if I have too much loss with my coax run.

Anyone knows if this antenna has a good reptutation?

thanks a lot in advance for your input, it's much appreciated.

Bethsalem

Hi Shiloh

I'm getting about 75nm with an indoor 1090MHz antenna with my R820T dongle, so your range isn't too bad.

I've no experience with your antenna or cable, but regardless of your antenna and cable setup, you're very unlikely to get 200 plus nm coverage with a dongle with costs a small fraction of a Beast or a SBS-3.

Regards

Stephen

kered