Welcome to Radarspotting. Please login or sign up.

May 05, 2024, 08:48:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.

ModesDeco2 or ModesMixer2 with PiAware - anybody tried this successfully

Started by EDDG, May 05, 2015, 10:12:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

spotter.ssol

AFAIK, callsign is broadcasted only by 1090ES (ADS-B) capable aircraft. But these ones usually don't require MLAT.
--

Anmer

Quote from: spotter.ssol on March 05, 2016, 11:17:45 PM
AFAIK, callsign is broadcasted only by 1090ES (ADS-B) capable aircraft. But these ones usually don't require MLAT.

I admit I'm no expert on 1090 MHz message specs but I have callsigns for all the non ADS-B flights I'm receiving at this moment and it's been like that since I started this hobby back in 2005.
Here to Help.

Triple7

I'm no expert either but I'm pretty sure the callsign is embedded in one of the Mode-S DF's otherwise how would ATC identify each aircraft?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Secondary_surveillance_radar#Mode_S

Tim
SBS-1eR, FA ProStick + 1090 filter

Anmer

This Eurocontrol document explains more:

Mode S Elementary Surveillance (ELS)

Within European Mode S airspace:

Aircraft intending to fly IFR as GAT must be Mode S ELS compliant.
    Aircraft intending to fly VFR: requirements differ for VFR flights within the participating States. Consult appropriate AICs/AIPs for the states in which flights will be conducted.
    State aircraft: Co-ordinated exemption arrangements have been established (consult the Civil-Military ATM Coodination Division).

Aircraft compliant with Mode S ELS provide the following functionality (this is also referred to as "Basic Functionality"):

Automatic reporting of Aircraft Identity. This is the callsign used in flight and is automatically presented to the controller.