Welcome to Radarspotting. Please login or sign up.

May 04, 2024, 04:33:51 AM

Login with username, password and session length

New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please use the Contact option.

PlanePlotter and Windows 10

Started by xtraham, April 25, 2018, 08:41:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xtraham

I'm a rookie new user to plane tracking and PlanePlotter. My intent as a beginner s very simple, I want to monitor ACARS and get tracking info, specifically tail numbers and aircraft info. A pic of the aircraft would be a plus.

My questions relate to getting PlanePlotter software to interface with my pc and my Uniden BCD536HP scanner.
I'm currently having trouble getting PlanePlotter to get input from my scanner and soundcard.

Equipment being used:

PC running fresh install of Windows 10
BCD536HP scanner which is scanning the ACARS freqs.
PC hooked to scanner via a USB cable
Soundcard is the default Windows 10 pc soundcard

I have my pc running Proscan software, which is logging ACARS hits, so I know that the USB cable is working from the scanner to the pc. However, PlanePlotter using the "Signal View" shows no signal input at all from the soundcard. I've tried adjusting the soundcard levels, to no avail. I've also tried running a cable from the scanner out port to the line in port on the pc, to no avail.

Note that I have not yet registered Plane Plotter, as I'm reluctant to spend the $$ until the software until it's actually working.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Also, for simple ACARS monitoring and info, is PlanePlotter the right choice for software, or should I be considering something else?

Thanks.

Scott

Anmer

Welcome.

Have you configured PlanePlotter to access your soundcard?

Take a look at the PlanePlotter Help (menu option) and search on ACARS.
Here to Help.

xtraham