New Members

New Members

You should get an activation email when you join.  If not, please contact

info@radarspotting.com
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 25, 2019, 03:13:47 am

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 55
Total: 55

Silhouettes, Profiles and Operator Logos

If you're looking for a bulk download, we have nearly 47,000 aircraft silhouettes, profiles and operator logos available in bmp file format, 85x20 pixels. You can find all the Zip files here.  

And you can request new logos or silhouettes in the the Logo section - Ian K, Paulm, Steve Hibberd, Mustang51, Chris Alder, s92driver and Simon Brooke.  Latest Additions






Author Topic: Countries.dat Lookup Tool  (Read 2379 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline egnx

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: gb
Countries.dat Lookup Tool
« on: November 18, 2018, 09:44:56 am »
Hi
the attached excel workbook lets you search a Countries.dat file with a Hex mode S and it will show you all rows with a binary mask match and highlight the row that would be used for the country name.

I hope it might help some of you when making changes to your Countries.dat file.

Regards
Kelvin

Mod Edit.  Updated Zip file attached.

See: https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php/topic,7159.msg40208.html#msg40208

« Last Edit: November 20, 2018, 09:20:08 am by Anmer »


  • SBS-1, SBS-1ER, SBS-3

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2018, 09:58:10 am »
Thanks Kelvin, works just fine.
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Truetrack

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
  • Country: de
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2018, 11:57:11 am »
Great tool !

Thank you
  • SBS-3
Klaus

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2018, 05:27:35 pm »
I'm getting a compile error - clicking on 'help' takes me here:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office/vba/Language/Reference/User-Interface-Help/compile-error-in-hidden-modulemodule-name

Compile error in hidden module:

A protected module contains a compilation error. Because the error is in a protected module it cannot be displayed.

This error commonly occurs when code is incompatible with the version or architecture of this application (for example, code in a document targets 32-bit Microsoft Office applications but it is attempting to run on 64-bit Office).

This error has the following cause and solution:

Cause of the error:

The error is raised when a compilation error exists in the VBA code inside a protected (hidden) module. The specific compilation error is not exposed because the module is protected.

Possible solutions:

    If you have access to the VBA code in the document or project, unprotect the module, and then run the code again to view the specific error.

    If you do not have access to the VBA code in the document, then contact the document author to have the code in the hidden module updated.


This happens as soon as I open the spreadsheet. I'm using Office 365 Pro Plus 64 bit. The module (modCdat) is password protected so I can't diagnose the error.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks,

Tim
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2018, 05:30:49 pm »
Hi Tim.

Did you save and extract the Zip file?
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2018, 05:32:24 pm »
Yes Mike, I did. Error pops up as soon as the file opens.

EDIT: Screen grab attached

Tim
« Last Edit: November 18, 2018, 05:34:37 pm by Triple7 »
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2018, 05:37:56 pm »
Thanks Tim.

The Search feature is on the second worksheet.  The one labelled "Search".

Try that.
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2018, 05:39:40 pm »
Each time I click on any of the buttons - the error message re-appears.

Tim
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2018, 05:53:09 pm »
Hi Tim

I'm using 64 bit Windows 7 and Office Professional 2013.

I just did a search, as shown and no errors, just the result.

Are you definitely using the Search worksheet?
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2018, 06:17:56 pm »
Are you definitely using the Search worksheet?

I am!

Tim
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2018, 06:21:37 pm »
Sorry Tim, can't offer any suggestions.

I assume the spreadsheet's not compatible with Office 365.
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2018, 06:26:52 pm »
Thanks for your suggestions. I also assume something is incompatible with my version of excel.

If the author could send an unprotected version, I could do some debugging and try and resolve it.

Tim
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline Anmer

  • Administrator
  • Top Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8331
  • Country: wales
    • https://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=362aef4accb97579e69c25d36a6bafa8&action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2018, 06:32:45 pm »
Hi Tim

I've just emailed you a copy of my unprotected Excel file.
  • SBS-1, SBS-1eR, SBS-3 and RadarBox
Here to Help.

Offline Triple7

  • Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 903
  • Country: england
    • http://radarspotting.com/forum/index.php?action=treasury
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2018, 06:40:21 pm »
The module (VBA code) is still password protected though!

Tim
  • SBS-1er, RPi2 + FA Pro Stick & 1090 filter

Offline egnx

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: gb
Re: Re: Countries.dat file for Basestation
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2018, 07:16:43 am »
Hi,
it was created using Office 2016 and i have also used it with Office 365, so i don't think there is a compatibility issue there.

I assume that when you first opened the workbook and you got the yellow security warning banner you did click on the "enable content" button ?

Attached is version with the VBA password removed.

Regards
Kelvin
  • SBS-1, SBS-1ER, SBS-3